Main Menu
Event

The World Post-Windsor: How Employers Should Manage Benefits for Same-Sex Couples – Webinar

Date and Time
10.10.13

On June 26, 2013, in United States v. Windsor, the Supreme Court ruled Section 3 of the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA), which denied federal benefits to same-sex couples, unconstitutional.

As a result of this ruling, married same-sex couples residing in states where same-sex marriages are legal may be eligible for over 1,000 federal benefits and protections linked to marital status.

While the decision in the Windsor case will affect health and welfare plans and retirement benefits, employers will also need to understand how this decision affects compliance with COBRA, FMLA, ERISA and HIPAA.

Tabatha George, an attorney in the New Orleans office, will present a free webinar that will help you understand the effects of the Windsor decision on employee benefit plans, including the impact of the new regulations and guidance issued by the DOL and IRS, and learn what steps you need to take to comply - such as revising benefit plan documents and policies - and what HR can expect in the future.

This webinar is sponsored by XpertHR.    

Date:    October 10, 2013
Time:   1:00 p.m. EDT / 12:00 p.m. CDT / 10:00 a.m. PDT

Visit the XpertHR website to Register.

Attorneys

Back to Page