Missouri Minimum Wage to Increase to $7.65 Per Hour Effective January 1, 2015
On January 1, 2015, the Missouri minimum wage will increase from $7.50 to $7.65 per hour and from $3.75 to $3.825 per hour for tipped employees. Compensation for tipped employees must total at least $7.65 per hour when tips are calculated. The Missouri minimum wage law governs Missouri businesses except retail and service businesses whose annual gross sales are less than $500,000.
Per Missouri law, the minimum wage rate is calculated once a year and may increase or decrease based on the cost of living as measured by the previous year’s Consumer Price Index.
The Missouri minimum wage law establishes the minimum wage in Missouri and contains employer recordkeeping and enforcement provisions.
Missouri’s minimum wage is currently higher than the federal rate and covered employers need to remember that, when Missouri and federal minimum wages conflict, they must pay employees the higher of the wage rates.
For more information contact the Fisher Phillips Kansas City office at 816.842.8770.
This Legal Alert provides information about a specific new provision of a Missouri law. It is not intended to be, and should not be construed as, legal advice for any particular fact situation.