Colorado Raises Minimum Wage to $8.00 An Hour
On January 1, 2014, the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment increased the minimum wage in Colorado from $7.78 to $8.00 per hour and from $4.76 to $4.98 for tipped employees.
The Colorado minimum wage law regulates wages, hours, working conditions and procedures for certain employers and employees, for work performed within the boundaries of the state of Colorado in the retail and service, commercial support service, food and beverage, and health and medical industries.
In addition to establishing these regulations, the Colorado minimum wage law establishes employer recordkeeping requirements and provides investigative and enforcement powers to the Director of the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment. Further, employers in Colorado may not threaten, coerce, or discharge employees who participate in investigations or hearings under the Colorado Minimum Wage Act.
Employers who fail to abide by the provisions of the minimum wage law risk civil and criminal (misdemeanor) penalties, including fines of up to $500, imprisonment in the county jail for up to one year, or both.
For more information contact Fisher Phillips’ Denver office at (303) 218-3650.
This Legal Alert provides information about a specific new provision of a Colorado law. It is not intended to be, and should not be construed as, legal advice for any particular fact situation.