Missouri Raises Minimum Wage
On January 1, 2014, the Missouri minimum wage increased from $7.35 to $7.50 and from $3.68 to $3.75 for tipped employees.
The Missouri minimum wage law governs all businesses except retail and service businesses whose annual gross sales are less than $500,000.
Each year, after January 1, 2014, the Missouri minimum wage increases pursuant to a statutory cost of living formula.
The Missouri minimum wage law establishes the minimum wage in Missouri and also contains certain other employer recordkeeping and enforcement provisions.
Missouri’s minimum wage is currently higher than the federal rate and covered employers need to remember that, when Missouri and federal minimum wages conflict, they must pay employees the higher of the wages.
For more information contact Fisher Phillips’ Kansas City office at (816) 842-8770.
This Legal Alert provides information about a specific new provision of a Missouri law. It is not intended to be, and should not be construed as, legal advice for any particular fact situation.